MK Music Hub

MK Rock School

Our aim at Rock School is to help young people take part in music and share in the great rewards it can bring

General Info

Location: Community Learning MK – Music Faculty

Telephone: 01908 253520

Email: music@milton-keynes.gov.uk

Opening hours: M-T 9am – 5pm | F: 9am – 4.30pm

Music Faculty Privacy Notice

Quick Info

Join or enquire about Rock School

If you would like to join a Rock School group, please click here to complete an application form.

f you just want to enquire at this stage, please click here to tell us about yourself.

Apply

If you would like to join Rock School, please click here to complete an application form.

If you just want to enquire at this stage, please click here to tell us about yourself.

Useful Forms
Our Tutors

MK Rock School tutors are all experienced pro players with skills learnt from years spent touring and recording.

Andy Glass – is the current Rock School manager and has been teaching guitar at the school since 2000.

Andy has toured extensively throughout Europe and the USA with his own band Solstice and with acts such as Jethro Tull, Bill Withers and Geno Washington.

He has written, recorded and produced numerous

albums, worked as a studio session musician and musical director as well as both a live and studio sound engineer.

http://www.solsticewebsite.com (external link)

 

Pete Hemsley – is our drum tutor and has also been at the Rock School from 2000.

Pete has an outstanding reputation as a drummer and producer and has toured across the globe with numerous bands.

He has been signed to Virgin and Sony records and played with some of the greats including Jimmy Page and Robert Plant of Led Zeppelin!

With many albums and production credits to his name Pete has received awards for his exceptional work.

Testimonials from parents
  • “My son had a fantastic experience with you… he was buzzing.  It pleases me especially as he lacks self confidence and so loves playing the guitar and the format he described allows him to be braver with the past time he loves.” 
  • “I have been meaning for the last couple of years to formally contact you and say thank you for the hard work you and the other tutors do at Rock School every week. I have however, just come home from the end of year show and blown away does not describe how I feel right now. The quality of all the young musicians you coach was astounding, the sheer delight in their eyes was heart-warming and the understated encouragement, warmth and support you gave them was humbling…thank you for doing what you do, the show was truly amazing.” 
  • “On a more personal note you have nurtured Ted (and I am sure others) and helped him believe in himself; you challenge him when it is appropriate and support him when he needs it, you do all of this with a palpable passion for young talent and the music they play. Because of this he plays the guitar and now drums with a passion and confidence that goes beyond his natural comfort zone…thank you for making him feel so special.” 
  • “Rock School is an amazing opportunity for young people to find their passions for all music in a safe, supporting and enlivening environment. You must be very proud of yourself and the other tutors for creating this vibrant atmosphere.” 
  • “Ted and all of us in his family are very grateful to you all.”

Let's get ready to rock!

Join us for a no obligation trial session

We are welcoming new students...

Join us for a no obligation trial session

About Rock School

If you are in school years 5-13 you can come to Rock School to learn, improve and gain experience as a singer, drummer, guitarist or bass player. In fact, if you sign up for one instrument you can attend another completely free!

‘Beginner’ and ‘improver’ sessions are an hour long and, although the focus is on learning your instrument, there are still opportunities to play together as a band every half term.

‘Intermediate’ and ‘advanced’ sessions are for more experienced players and are 2 hours long. During the first hour all groups learn the same song with the second hour spent playing as a band in a fully equipped space including vocal PA, guitar amps and drum kit.

If you’re interested in Rock School you’re very welcome to come along and join us for a session to see what goes on and to give us a chance to assess the best group for you.

Check out the MK Rock School YouTube channel and the MK Rock School Facebook page to see what we are all about! 

Here’s how the sessions are organised:

  • Beginners/Improvers – Mondays 5-6pm – Guitar and Drums – for beginners or those with some experience.
  • Intermediate – Monday 6-8pm – Guitar, Drums, Vocals – for competent players (inexperienced singers are welcome to join this session).
  • Advanced – Wednesdays 6-8pm – Guitar, Bass Guitar, Drums, Vocals – for intermediate and advanced players.

Sessions take place at Stantonbury International School in the Cooksey 3 building.

Autumn Term 2021

Session Dates:

Mon 13 Sep 21 / Wed 15 Sep 21
Mon 20 Sep 21 / Wed 22 Sep 21
Mon 27 Sep 21 / Wed 29 Sep 21
Mon 4  Oct 21 / Wed 6 Oct 21
Mon 11 Oct 21 / Wed 13 Oct 21
Mon 18 Oct 21 / Wed 20 Oct 21
Mon 8 Nov 21 / Wed 10 Nov 21
Mon 15 Nov 21 / Wed 17 Nov 21
Mon 22 Nov 21 / Wed 24 Nov 21
Mon 29 Nov 21 / Wed 1 Dec 21
Mon 6 Dec 21 / Wed 8 Dec 21

Spring Term 2022

Session Dates:

Mon 10 Jan 22 / Wed 12 Jan 22
Mon 17 Jan 22 / Wed 19 Jan 22
Mon 24 Jan 22 / Wed 26 Jan 22
Mon 31 Jan 22 / Wed 2 Feb 22
Mon 7 Feb 22 / Wed 9 Feb 22
Mon 14 Feb 22 / Wed 16 Feb 22
Mon 7 Mar 22 / Wed 9 Mar 22
Mon 14 Mar 22 / Wed 16 Mar 22
Mon 21 Mar 22 / Wed 23 Mar 22
Mon 28 Mar 22 / Wed 30 Mar 22
Mon 4 Apr 22 / Wed 6 Apr 22

Summer Term 2022

Session Dates:

Mon 9 May 22 / Wed 1 May 22
Mon 16 May 22 / Wed 18 May 22
Mon 25 May 22 / Wed 27 May 22
Mon 13 Jun 22 / Wed 15 Jun 22
Mon 20 Jun 22 / Wed 22 Jun 22
Mon 27 Jun 22 / Wed 25 Jun 22
Mon 4 Jul 22 / Wed 6 Jul 22
Mon 11 Jul 22 / Wed 13 Jul 22

Schools in MK

Totally Music programmes

Ensembles

Years Established

Get in touch

Milton Keynes Music Faculty
Community Learning MK 

Telephone: 01908 253520

Email: music@milton-keynes.gov.uk

Opening hours: M-T: 9am - 5pm | F: 9am-4.30pm

MK Music Faculty Privacy Notice